Justice. One Client at a Time.

CRIMINAL DEFENSE • DISCIPLINARY INVESTIGATIONS & HEARINGS

What are the penalties for prostitution in New York State?

An individual is guilty of the crime of prostitution when that person engages or agrees to engage in sexual conduct with another person in exchange for a fee. A defense to the charge of patronizing a prostitute in the first or second degree is lack of reasonable grounds to think that the prostitute was younger than the age that was provided. In New York State, prostitution is considered a Class B misdemeanor, which is punishable by up to three months in jail and/or up to a $500 fine.

Patronizing a prostitute is a Class A misdemeanor that is punishable by up to one year in prison and/or up to a $1,000 fine. Patronizing a prostitute is a Class E felony if the prostitute is under 14 years of age. A person found guilty of this crime could spend two to five years in prison. Permitting prostitution is a Class B felony that is punishable by up to three months in prison and/or up to a $500 fine.

Other Criminal Defense FAQs:

SCHEDULE A CONSULTATION