Am I required to submit to a breath test in New York?

New York has an implied consent law. Under the law, all licensed drivers must submit to a formal breath test or other type of chemical test to measure the amount of alcohol or drugs in their body. Having a driver’s license means that you automatically consent to a breath test every time you get behind the wheel of a vehicle in New York.

While you can technically refuse to take a breath test, you will face serious consequences such as losing your driver’s license and being fined. Additionally, you can still be charged with driving while intoxicated (DWI). Your refusal to take a breath test can also be used as evidence against you later on.

If you refused to take a breath test and are unsure about how it will affect you, contact a New York DWI lawyer. It may be possible to undo the damage and turn the situation in your favor.

Other Criminal Defense FAQs:



Contact us today for a free consultation. We are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, and 365 days a year. 888-315-9841

I would use this law firm for anything I need in the future! I have also recommended so many people to Mr. Brill. He's also very reasonable, So kind & knowledgeable. Look no further for an Attorney to represent you. Brill Law Firm is the way to go! I can't Thank him enough for all he has done for me! 10 Stars**********

- L.N.