Can drivers under 21 be charged with a DWI in New York?

Yes, New York has a zero-tolerance law that bars drivers under 21 from driving while intoxicated (DWI). If a driver younger than age 21 is caught driving with a blood alcohol content (BAC) that measures between 0.02 and 0.07, they can be charged with a violation.

A driver who is found guilty of violating the zero-tolerance law will be fined and face a six-month driver’s license suspension. Breaking the law a second time can lead to harsher consequences, including a revoked license for one year or until the driver turns 21.

An underage driver with a BAC of 0.08 or more can be charged with a DWI. In such cases, they are subject to the same standard DWI penalties as drivers aged 21 or older, with some exceptions. 

If you are under 21 and have been arrested for DWI, contact Brill Legal Group right away. An experienced DWI defense lawyer can help you understand the charges you are facing and your next steps.

Other Criminal Defense FAQs:



Contact us today for a free consultation. We are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, and 365 days a year. 888-315-9841

Excellent service. Brill Legal was a breath of fresh air and Peter is a genius! Not only is he thorough and practical, but he gets work done fast; especially when there are short turnaround times. I highly recommend Peter and Brill's staff!!

- T.H.